I’m Doing This Wrong

I had an epiphany yesterday. I saw a story on Facebook about a couple who built a tiny house and lived in it while they finished the interior. And I though, “I’m doing this wrong.”

See, all this time I have been dreaming about a tiny house that has EVERYTHING that I want. But for a single broke gal, I don’t think that’s the best way to go. Going that way, I’m no closer to my goal than I was a year ago. I have no money and no ability to save money. Plus I have horrible credit, so a loan isn’t an option either. I’m stuck. I have a big dream of a very little house, but no idea how to get there.

However, Christmas is coming up and for the past 2 years at my job I have gotten a bonus. It’s not much, but it may be enough to buy a small trailer, emphasis on SMALL.

Let’s think about this another way… what do you really, really NEED? If I can pair everything down and get this thing built, I could actually save some money for the house that I want.

So, what do I really need? I lived in a shared apartment, so basically in my bedroom and bathroom, for a whole year and a half. I know first hand that I can live without a kitchen. I did have a small refrigerator then, but I have some ideas on how I could live without that as well. I’m thinking this thing my not even have electricity.

I really do need a bathroom. I have been back and forth about living off grid. I LOVE the idea, but the thought of a composting toilet scares me TO DEATH! I don’t know much about them though. Maybe that’s the problem. If I did go with that, that would save a lot of money.

I would also need a shower in my bathroom, which, again, doesn’t have to be anything fancy. We are talking survival here, not ascetics. I’ve been back and forth between whether or not it needs to actually have hot water. I’m sure when I actually have to use it I will have a different opinion, but, at the moment, its easier (and CHEAPER) if it’s just cold. And cold water doesn’t need electricity.

I was thinking for water to do a rain water system. With the amount of rain we have gotten in the last couple of weeks here in the QC I’m bummed I don’t have it set up yet. I’d be set for a freaking year! (It’s never going to stop raining!!!)

There are a couple of options for heat, a propane heater or a wood burning stove. Both of those are doable. It’s the AC that I really don’t want to live without. I’m thinking there my be a generator with a window AC or something. How many hours are we really at home? We can make this work.

I think the only other thing I can’t live without is a bed. In fact I have lived with a blowup mattress already for like 5 years.

The electricity thing is kinda scary, but here’s what I’m thinking: there are several things I can’t live without that use electricity like my phone and computer. They both have long battery lives though and I can charge them at work and my phone can charge in my car. My internet now comes from my phone so that works out. I watch Netflix more than I watch actual TV, so, in theory, I COULD live without cable. (We also have a TV at work so if worst came to worst I could bum TV there).

I am going to have to hunt down some way to blow dry and curl my hair though… oh! and charge my toothbrush. :-/

So, without all of the complicated things, this might not be so far off. All I really need to get moved in is a trailer, shell, toilet and shower. Maybe $2k – $3k?? That’s so much more doable than more than $30k.

2 thoughts on “I’m Doing This Wrong

  1. Planning a tiny house on a budget is so hard! You’re absolutely right- you don’t need ‘everything’ to make your small house a home, and often living with the bare minimum is even more satisfying then living in your ‘dream’ home. 🙂

    Although money is tight, I would really encourage you to not to just focus on only the bare minimum- it’s okay to give your house fun and maybe ‘unnecessary’ elements to make it *feel* like home. 🙂 Like hot water. In winter, hot water is nice. 😉

    However, I can totally attest that a composting toilet, when done right, is totally safe and a wonderful, cost-effective way to live off-grid. Although my husband and I were able to buy one, there are tons of articles and videos online on how to make a home-made one sanitary and stink-free. 🙂 Sorry for the long comment! Best of luck. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

