Why Tiny?

“Not everyone will get it. Move on.”

Every time I tell someone that I am building a tiny house they ask one question: “Why?” Ok, actually, first I have to explain what it is, then they ask why. I spent half an hour on the phone with my dad last week listening to him try to convince me that an RV is cheaper and a better option. I listened, as every good daughter does, and then I politely disagreed. He didn’t want to hear my reasons, so I thought that I would share them with you here:

It’s a house. It may be tiny, but it’s a house.

The pride of  building something on your own. This is a huge reason for me. I know NOTHING about construction. But I love the challenge of not knowing and doing it anyway. I like the figuring it out part.

The pride of designing the whole thing is also big. I’m falling in love with making a thousand little choices.

It’s not temporary. It’s built to last. Because you are building it, or you know who is building it, you can control the quality. It shouldn’t be flimsy and cheap like a lot of RVs.

It is built for living in year round. That means more insulation and, in turn, lower utility costs.

It’s more expensive than an RV, but it’s also more valuable when you are done. It will appreciate, like a house, not depreciate, like a car.

It requires less money up front than an RV or a traditional house. I’m confident that I can get it to a livable point for much less than $10k and then finish the rest as I go.

It’s safer. RVs are built with all kinds of plastic and toxins. My tiny house will be built with much safer materials.

It can be built to be off the grid. This isn’t my first consideration, but the more I think about it, the higher it gets on the list. You can take it anywhere… like that cheap, but beautiful piece of land that no one wants because it’s too expensive to get utilities to. With solar panels and a rain water collection system, your utility bill would be next to nothing.

Mostly – It’s because I want to build a tiny house. I don’t want to live in an RV. I want to live in a tiny house.

So I leave you where we started… “Not everyone will get it. Move on.”

3 thoughts on “Why Tiny?

  1. Sarah, this is awesome! My husband & I are currently in the early stages of planning & building our own tiny house as well. I totally agree with you that Tiny Houses are so much more valuable then a RV- being able to literally create whatever space you want inside the very walls you built is not only empowering, but also such an asset in the long run.

    Good luck to you! Seeing your ambition and determination is super. Not everyone will get it and it’s so okay!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Veronica,

      Thank you for your kind words! It’s nice to connect with people who get it. Most people don’t understand. Good luck to you and your husband! I’m sure it will be a life changing experience. I’m really excited to get going! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

