My Tiny House

A couple of years ago I stumbled across the Tumbleweed Tiny House Company website, I don’t even remember how. But I fell in love with the houses the first time I saw them. I wanted to build one right away. But, I had a lot going on then, a lot more excuses than desire, unfortunately. I kept the idea in my head though. Every once in a while it seems to pop up again.

In the last couple of months the idea of building one of these houses has been swarming around with a vengeance! So I made a list of pros and cons to help with the decision…

The Benefits:

Financial freedom

Not having to worry about a landlord

Reduced utility bills

Owning my own house

The accomplishment of building my own house

The Drawbacks:

I know nothing about construction

I have no money to start with

It could be dangerous (the construction part)

I don’t have a place to build or store anything

As you can see from my list I’m not really in to the whole Green thing. I don’t mind that the house will be better for the world, but it’s not my first priority. I plan on having a fully functioning bathroom and a big flat screen TV with cable. I don’t know that either one of these things are considered “green.” I’m not opposed to the idea of solar panels and possibly a rain water collection system, but I think they will be too expensive for me to plan on having up front. I can’t image what a composting toilet would be like. I just can’t.

Another thing that appeals to a lot of people is the ability to be mobile. That’s not a huge priority for me. I love the area that I live in and I love my job. I plan on sticking around here for a while. But I do plan on considering this during the build, just in case I have to sell the house someday, and it’s important to the new owners.

What does appeal to me? The idea of having my own space. A place that I designed and built. One that is just for me.

The financial freedom part appeals to me a lot too. I have always been one to spend more money than I make. I have expensive tastes and so far, my jobs haven’t been able to provide for the lifestyle that I want. That, plus the area that I live in has a high cost of living. My rent is about a third of my take home pay, which I think is in the range of what is should be, but it feels like a lot to me. It also feels like I’m throwing money away. I realize that I have to have a place to live, but I would love for that money to be going toward my own house and not to pay for someone else’s house.

So I’m building a house! This is my journey. Right now it is just a dream that I’m working on turning into a plan. Oh! And there’s a Pinterest board: http://www.pinterest.com/sarahbkuhn/my-tiny-house/

I think there should be a Pinterest board for every good idea!

Leave a Reply

